Billing and Subscription
This section helps the super admin to track their Empuls usage and pay for it.

Getting Started

Empuls offers organizations the flexibility to choose from the product packages offered and pay online. Here is a quick walkthrough of things to do to set up billing on Empuls.
You are required to navigate to the Billing & Subscriptions page under Platform Settings Menu to start setting up your payments.
  1. 1.
    Choose a product package: You are assigned a starter package (unless specified otherwise) with a 30-day free trial. You can compare the feature for each package by clicking on the link https://www.empuls.io/pricing​
  2. 2.
    Add Billing Email id and Address: Updating the billing Email id and Address ensures the invoice generated is attributed to your organization and is shared with the right person.
  3. 3.
    Add Card Information: Adding card information helps in automated payments for every billing cycle.
  4. 4.
    Add Tax Id: This helps in generating a tax invoice that can be submitted to authorities for expenses and rebates if applicable.
  5. 5.
    Prepaid Credit: refers to all offline payments and promotional credits provided to your account. These credits are used to fund your next invoice. You will be required to pay only if the invoice amount exceeds the promotional credits.

Monthly Billing Explained

All customers at sign-up are offered a no-commitment free trial of 30 days irrespective of the product package chosen. See the image below for more information.

Sign Up (i.e Day 1)

The users are provided an option to select a product package as part of the signup process. In case you did get the option, then you are automatically subscribed to the Starter package. The account is provided with a 30-day free trial period to allow the super admin to configure the account to their organizational needs and evaluate Empuls with a few initial users.
The super admin can add his billing information by navigating to the Billing and Subscriptions page under the Platform Settings menu to set up their billing details. The user is required to provide the address, Card Information, and Tax id to commit to using the Empuls product. An intermediate reminder will be sent in case no card details are linked to your account.
Alternatively, the super admin can cancel the subscription to stop using the Empuls platform.

Trial Period Ends (Day 30)

​
Upon completion of the trial period, the users will be able to use Empuls if the admin has linked the credit card.
On Day 30, The invoice for the next month is generated and shared with the Super Admin. This invoice can be paid in the next 30 days for continued usage of Empuls.
Invoice Value =
InvoiceValue=(Pricing/user/month)βˆ—(NumberofEmployees)Invoice Value = (Pricing/user/month) * (Number of Employees)

The Next Invoice (Day 60)

The invoice for the next month is generated only if the invoice for the previous month is paid. The invoice generated will include
A)Estimated usage for the next month calculated as per the formula above
B)Prorated usage from the previous month factors in the addition of any new users during the previous month after the previous month's invoice was generated. The system is configured to calculate the prorated usage according to the pricing plan selected.
For e.g: 10 new users were added on the 15th day of the previous month. The prorated cost will be $15 i.e ($3/30*15)*(10). The formula for calculating the prorated cost is provided below.
ProratedCost=(Costperdayβˆ—numberofdaysused)βˆ—(Noofusersadded)Prorated Cost = (Cost per day * number of days used) *(No of users added)
In case the user accounts are disabled, the number of users added will be factored as a negative value.

Annual Billing Explained

Proration Explained for Annual Subscriptions

Empuls prorates its subscription such that customers can add or remove users from Empuls without having to worry about billing for them.
Here are a few use cases for an organization of 1000 employees that are charged INR 1920/year.
A. 10 users were removed from Empuls during the mid-year.
Empuls billing system checks for changes in the number of employees every day. If the company is on an annual subscription plan and 10 net users were removed, Empuls understands that the customer had already paid for these 10 users for a full year thus credits the unused amount already collected for those 10 users. Here is the calculation
B. 10 users were added to Empuls during the mid-year.
Empuls will calculate the prorated usage of these 10 users and adds it to the next invoice. calculation below

Interpreting Prorated Invoices

Empuls uses Stripe for automation of its subscription management and invoicing. One of the limitations of this automation is the complexity of the calculations wrt to prorations and it's the depiction on invoices. Here is an explanation of how to read prorated invoices.
  1. 1.
    If the number of employees onboarded decreases, then there are 2 line items added to the invoice to depict the change (See image below) The first line indicates the amount that will be consumed by the currently active users (i.e Qty = 2) for the remainder of the subscription time and the second line depicts the amount discounted that remained unused for all users for the remainder of the subscription time. The difference between these 2 line items provides the total surplus amount that the customer had paid in his previous invoice thus being deducted in the next invoice.
2. If the number of employees onboarded increases, then there are 2 line items added to the invoice to depict this change (See invoice below). The first line item indicates the amount charged for the currently active users for the remainder of the subscription period and the second line indicates the amount already paid by the customer for the previously active 2 users for the remainder of the subscription time. The difference amount is the surplus that the customer is required to pay in the next invoice as the usage was higher than what was paid in the previous subscription period.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I cancel my subscription?
Ans) You will be able to find the option of Cancel Subscription in the Billing and Subscriptions page under the Platform Settings Menu option.
How do I restart my subscription?
Ans) You will be able to find the option of Restart Subscription in the Billing and Subscriptions page under the Platform Settings Menu option. In case you have any unpaid invoices, you will be required to make payments for that invoice to restart your subscription.
How do I downgrade my subscription from Proficient to Starter?
Ans) The option to downgrade your subscription is currently managed by the Empuls team. Please reach out to us at [email protected] for downgrading your subscription.
How do I permanently delete my empuls account?
Ans) You have an option to "Delete Account Permanently" on the Billing and subscription page. If you are an account Super Admin you can delete the Empuls account (along with all the data in it). This is an irreversible action and all the users, posts, points, files will also be erased automatically.
​
​
​
Copy link
On this page
Getting Started
Monthly Billing Explained
Sign Up (i.e Day 1)
Trial Period Ends (Day 30)
The Next Invoice (Day 60)
Annual Billing Explained
Proration Explained for Annual Subscriptions
Frequently Asked Questions